Finger Lakes Community College, Canandaigua

Colleges & Universities

The Finger Lakes Region is home to many colleges, ranging from two-year public colleges to four-year, private ivy league schools with programs as diverse as the students who attend from all over the world. From the two- year Finger Lakes Community College (FLCC) with campus facilities in Canandaigua, Geneva, and Victor to the prestigious Division 3 Hobart and William Smith Colleges to those that are nearby in Rochester, Syracuse, Geneseo and Ithaca, there is a college town vibe throughout the Finger Lakes.

Finger Lakes Community College 
Originally established in 1965 as Community College of the Finger Lakes, Finger Lakes Community College (FLCC) is just east of Canandaigua, with satellite campuses in Victor, Geneva, and Newark.

FLCC also operates several key research properties including the Muller Field Station in Honeoye, East Hill Campus in Naples, the FLCC Viticulture and Wine Center in Geneva, and a Victor campus with a technology focus. The FLCC Lakers' Woodsman team is often a contender in national competitions.

Hobart and William Smith Colleges
Referred to as The Colleges, Hobart and William Smith Colleges (HWS) were founded as two separate colleges, Hobart for men, in 1822, and William Smith for women, in 1908. Today the colleges operate under a "coordinate college" system, sharing the same campus, faculty, administration, and curriculum while each college maintains its own traditions, deans, and student government. HWS is located in Geneva, part of the campus right on the shores of Seneca Lake. 

The New York State Agriculture Station in Geneva
For more than 125 years, the New York State Agricultural Experiment Station (NYSAES) in Geneva has been committed to developing innovative technologies for New York state's food and agriculture industries. The Ag Station, as locals call it, is part of Cornell University in Ithaca, about an hour's drive from Geneva. NYSAES has the oldest and largest apple breeding program in the country, and is the birthplace of such popular apple varieties as Empire, Cortland, Jonagold and Macoun. Today, the Ag Station serves the state's booming grape, wine and beer industries, bioenergy crop producers, food entrepreneurs, and vegetable growers with the latest research and technology.


St. John Fisher College
Located in Pittsford, an eastern suburb of Rochester, St. John Fisher College is an independent, liberal arts institution in the Catholic tradition of higher education. 

Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT) 
The Rochester Institute of Technology in Henrietta (a suburb south of Rochester) is one of the Finger Lakes Rregion's largest educational institutions with more than 16,000 students. Founded in 1829, RIT is a privately endowed, coeducational university with nine colleges emphasizing career education and experiential learning.

University of Rochester
With more than 200 academic majors and 2,000 faculty, the University of Rochester, located in Rochester, prides itself in maintaining a low student-to-faculty teacher ratio, 10:1, allowing for personalized instruction at a larger university. The University of Rochester is home to notable technical facilities, such as the Institute of Optics and the Omega Laser Facility as well as notable institutions in the world of the arts such as the Eastman School of Music and the Memorial Art Gallery. Medical clinicians at Strong Memorial Hospital are faculty at the University of Rochester.

Keuka College 
Keuka College was founded in 1890 and is located on the shore of Keuka Lake in the central Finger Lakes community of Keuka Park. Keuka College is a private, undergraduate, and graduate, residential college that offers bachelor’s and master’s degree programs on campus and through its Accelerated Studies for Adults Program and international programs in China and Vietnam.